AAVMC announces professional excellence award recipients


A three-time veterinary school dean, Dr. Glen Hoffsis has had a major impact on both veterinary education and public policy.

Dr. Glen Hoffsis

Glen Hoffsis, DVM, MS, DACVIM

The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) has named Glen Hoffsis, DVM, MS, DACVIM, as the recipient of the 2020 Senator John Melcher, DVM Leadership in Public Policy Award. Established in 2007, this annual award recognizes leadership in public policy that advances veterinary medical education and success in advocating for veterinary medical education on a national or international scale.

Other AAVMC award recipients

In addition to Dr. Hoffsis, AAVMC has recently rewarded five other university-based veterinarians for professional excellence, achievement and service in academic veterinary medicine:

  • Jerome Masty, DVM, MS, PhD, from The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, received the 2019 AAVMC Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award, presented by Zoetis.
  • Peter J. Havel, DVM, PhD, from the University of California, Davis College of Veterinary Medicine, is the recipient of the 2020 AAVMC Excellence in Research Award.
  • Jaime Gongora, MS, PhD, from the University of Sydney School of Veterinary Science, and Sandra San Miguel, DVM, PhD, from Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine are joint recipients of the 2020 Iverson Bell Award.
  • Eleanor M. Green, DVM, DACVIM, DABVP, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine at Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, was awarded the 2020 AAVMC Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service.

“Every day, educators and researchers at our member institutions make outstanding contributions to academic veterinary medicine that inspire others, contribute to medical breakthroughs and work to educate upcoming generations of veterinarians,” says AAVMC Chief Executive Officer Andrew T. Maccabe, DVM, JD, MPH, in a press release about the announcement.

Dr. Hoffsis has an extensive resume as a leader within academic veterinary medicine, including more than 20 years of experience as the dean of three veterinary medical colleges. He was founding dean of the Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) College of Veterinary Medicine in Tennessee, where he currently serves as special assistant to LMU’s president. Previously, he served as dean of the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine and The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

At LMU, Dr. Hoffsis led a team that created more than 300 clinical affiliate distributive education sites for fourth-year veterinary students. At the University of Florida, he was instrumental in developing multiple educational programs, including rehabilitation, advanced cancer therapy, hyperbaric and alternative therapy, emergency and critical care, and wellness care.

Gary Vroegindewey, DVM, MSS, DACVPM, director of LMU’s One Health Program, nominated Dr. Hoffsis, writing that he is “an acknowledged thought leader in the modernization and delivery of veterinary education,” and that his many deserving accomplishments extend beyond veterinary medicine to encompass economics, public health, research, practice and public policy.

Dr. Hoffsis is past president of the AAVMC and the American Association of Bovine Practitioners. He has served on the board of directors of Banfield Pet Hospitals and is the former chair of the FDA’s Veterinary Medicine Advisory Committee. In 2018, he received the American Veterinary Medical Association’s Meritorious Service Award.

“My experience with the FDA made me see the importance of veterinarians interacting with major policymakers,” Dr. Hoffsis said in a video created by the AAVMC. “Public policy is really important for veterinarians to be engaged in, and the leaders of our academic institutions probably are the key leaders.”

Recent Videos
Managing practice caseloads
Nontraditional jobs for veterinary technicians
Angela Elia, BS, LVT, CVT, VTS (ECC)
NAVC Gives
NAVC CEO Gene O'Neill
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.