AAEP goings-on: A passing of the baton and the bestowing of awards

December 19, 2017
dvm360.com staff

Equine veterinary association sees transition in leadership, recognizes those who have contributed to the profession.

During the past month, the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) has named a new president and bestowed awards on two leaders in the equine veterinary profession. Here are the highlights, according to recent communications from the organization.

AAEP 2018 president installed

Dr. Margo Macpherson, 2018 AAEP president. All photos courtesy of AAEP.Margo Macpherson, DVM, MS, DACT, was installed as the 2018 president during the AAEP's 63rd Annual Convention in San Antonio. Dr. Macpherson is a tenured professor of reproduction and former chief of reproduction services at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine. In her professional career, she has combined veterinary medicine and research, with primary interests in conditions that affect pregnancy, including twin pregnancy and placentitis. Work from her laboratory has yielded information about the efficacy of common antimicrobial and anti-inflammatory treatments when treating mares with placentitis.

Dr. Macpherson served on the AAEP's board of directors from 2011 to 2014. She was a longstanding member of the Educational Programs Committee and made significant contributions to student programming.

AAEP Distinguished Life Member award

Dr. Harry Werner (left) and Dr. Reynolds Cowles, 2017 AAEP presidentAlso during the convention, AAEP presented the 2017 Distinguished Life Member award to Harry Werner, VMD. Dr. Werner is founding owner of Werner Equine in North Granby, Connecticut. He was awarded for his acclaimed leadership and exemplary service to the association during his 37 years of membership.

Dr. Werner's nearly four decades of membership and extensive service to the AAEP include a term as association president in 2009. He has served as chair of the Convention Planning, Equine Welfare, Finance, Nominating and Purchase Exam committees and as a member of other committees and councils, including current service on the Welfare and Public Policy Advisory Council.

Dr. Werner has served as AAEP's representative to the AVMA Animal Welfare Committee since 2012 and is also AVMA's liaison to the Unwanted Horse Coalition. He worked to help initiate the International Forum for Working Equids. In 2016, a $5 million gift to Penn Vet established an endowed chair in his name at the New Bolton Center, honoring his dedication to equine veterinary medicine and advocacy for equine welfare.

AAEP Distinguished Educator award

Dr. Peter Timoney (left) and Reynolds Cowles, DVM, 2017 AAEP presidentAlso during the convention, the AAEP awarded the 2017 Distinguished Educator-Academic Award to Peter Timoney, MVB, MS, PhD, FRCVS. Dr. Timoney is the professor and the Frederick Van Lennep Chair in Equine Veterinary Science at the University of Kentucky. He was given the AAEP award for “his influential contributions to the body of knowledge on equine infectious diseases,” the association states. This award honors an individual whose actions and commitment have had a significant impact on the development and training of equine practitioners.

Dr. Timoney has served on the faculty of the University of Kentucky's Department of Veterinary Science for 34 years. He also served as department chair from 1990 to 1999 and in 2002; he was director of the Maxwell H. Gluck Equine Research Center from 1990 to 2008.

Throughout his five-decade career, Dr. Timoney has written numerous documents and guidelines on equine infectious disease control, which have benefited both veterinarians and horse owners. He also has advised and shared his technical expertise with thousands of equine practitioners through personal communication and his presentations at international veterinary conferences.

See the related links below for dvm360 coverage featuring all of these equine leaders.