AAEP foundation, Markel award scholarships to veterinary students


Each student receives $2,500.

Eight veterinary students were awarded $2,500 as part of a program to provide financial support for future equine practitioners on behalf of the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) and Markel insurance company. The students were recognized at the AAEP's 60th annual convention in Salt Lake City, Utah, on Dec. 7.

The annual scholarship program, now in its 26th year, was designed to honor students who have proven to be advocates for equine welfare and exceptional academic achievers. They are nominated by representatives from their colleges with references from AAEP members and clinical instructors. In addition to academic excellence, nominees are evaluated by their leadership abilities and involvement with the health and welfare of horses. Each school may nominate one fourth-year veterinary student who intends to enter private practice. More than $400,000 has been awarded to 186 students since the scholarship program's inception in 1989.  

The recipients of the 2014 awards are:

> Zachary Badura, Iowa State University

> Elodie Huguet, University of Georgia

> Rebecca Legere, Kansas State University

> Molly Muedeking, Royal Veterinary College

> Stephanie Regan, University of Florida

> Holly Roessner, Michigan State University

> Esther Rogers, Auburn University

> Bailee Stanton, University of Saskatchewan

“Markel has been a leader in equine insurance for many years,” said AAEP Foundation Chairman Jeff Berk, VMD. “We can't thank Markel and its dedicated team enough for continuing its leadership by supporting this scholarship program. Equine veterinary students need help now more than ever, and Markel's dedication is so important in helping these students during difficult economic times.”

Related Videos
NAVC Gives
NAVC CEO Gene O'Neill
Related Content
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.