One Health in the COVID-19 era: A Bridge Club conversation

May 8, 2020
dvm360 Staff

Join The Bridge Club and CAPC on May 13 for an important conversation about how COVID-19 has shined a spotlight on One Health in an evolving world.

As evidenced by the millions of Americans who are turning to maps to track the COVID-19 virus in their local communities, the coronavirus pandemic has given the public a fuller understanding of the interconnections between human and animal health.

The Companion Animal Parasite Council (CAPC) has been levering “big data” for years to map and forecast the threat of diseases that have the potential to affect both animal and human health. In a recent dvm360 article, Chris Carpenter, DVM, MBA, chief executive officer of CAPC, shared how COVID-19 has heightened the emphasis of One Health and disease monitoring—and what information and services veterinarians will need moving forward to fulfill their role as zoonotic disease experts and One Health champions.

Dr. Carpenter continues this conversation on May 13 in a can’t-miss Bridge Club event where he will lead a discussion of:

  • The need for local and timely disease data
  • How transportation disrupts local ecosystems
  • The resurgence of the One Health conversation

What: COVID-19: Creates a New Demand for Mapping & Disease Monitoring

When: Wednesday, May 13 at 8 pm EST/7 pm CST/6 pm PST

Host: The Bridge Club

Event expert: Dr. Christopher Carpenter, CEO CAPC

Register now!