• One Health
  • Pain Management
  • Oncology
  • Anesthesia
  • Geriatric & Palliative Medicine
  • Ophthalmology
  • Anatomic Pathology
  • Poultry Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Dermatology
  • Theriogenology
  • Nutrition
  • Animal Welfare
  • Radiology
  • Internal Medicine
  • Small Ruminant
  • Cardiology
  • Dentistry
  • Feline Medicine
  • Soft Tissue Surgery
  • Urology/Nephrology
  • Avian & Exotic
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Anesthesiology & Pain Management
  • Integrative & Holistic Medicine
  • Food Animals
  • Behavior
  • Zoo Medicine
  • Toxicology
  • Orthopedics
  • Emergency & Critical Care
  • Equine Medicine
  • Pharmacology
  • Pediatrics
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Shelter Medicine
  • Parasitology
  • Clinical Pathology
  • Virtual Care
  • Rehabilitation
  • Epidemiology
  • Fish Medicine
  • Diabetes
  • Livestock
  • Endocrinology

AAVMC awards almost $100,000 in diversity scholarships

dvm360dvm360 March 2023
Volume 54
Issue 3
Pages: 17

Nineteen students in total awarded diversity scholarships



The American Association of Veterinary Medical College (AAVMC) announced that in partnership with Merck Animal Health, it has awarded 18 veterinary students in AAVMC member institutions the Merck Animal Health Diversity Scholarship, and 1 student the Patricia M. Lowrie Diversity Leadership Scholarship. The 19 selected students were identified by the AAVMC as champions of diversity, equity, and inclusion in veterinary medicine.

“We are thrilled to support the next generation of veterinary medical professionals through our valued partnership with Merck Animal Health,” expressed Andrew T. Maccabe, DVM, chief executive officer of AAVMC, in an organizational release.1 “These students exemplify AAVMC’s core values of diversity, inclusion, and excellence.”

According to the release,1 the Merk Animal Health Diversity Scholarship recognizes second- and-third year veterinary students that are holding good academic and professional standing as AAVMA institution members. The 18 selected students have contributed to creating more diversity and inclusion within the profession through community and domestic engagement, course projects, co-curricular activities, outreach, research, and more. Each of the winning students received a $5,000 scholarship

The Merck Animal Health Diversity Scholarship winners are1:

  • Alexandra Awad from Tufts University
  • Theodore Berlanga from the University of Illinois
  • Christina Camson from the Ohio State University
  • Chelsea Chiv from the University of California, Davis
  • Rachel Dufour from Louisiana State University
  • April Hampton from Long Island University
  • Lasha Hicks from Tuskegee University
  • Kayla Jackson from Ross University
  • Kismet Joshi from the University of Bristol
  • Lisa Kim from the University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Uzma Manzoor from Michigan State University
  • Shelby Matsuoka from Oregon State University
  • Antonia Nickleberry from St. Georges University
  • Samantha Oakey from the University of Georgia
  • Luisanny Perez from Colorado State University
  • Hery Rios-Guzman from Cornell Universit
  • Tamara Roba from the University of Tennessee
  • Jossette Velasquez from the University of Minnesota

Awad also won The Patricia M. Lowrie Diversity Leadership Scholarship. This scholarship honors a veterinary student who shows a promising future as a leader and has made significant contributions to enhance diversity and inclusion within academic veterinary medicine. She will receive a $6,000 scholarship


American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges in partnership with Merck Animal Health award close to $100,000 in diversity scholarships. News release. American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges. December 12, 2022. Accessed January 27, 2023. https://www.aavmc.org/news/american-association-of-veterinary-medical-colleges-in-partnership-with-merck-animal-health-award-close-to-100000-in-diversity-scholarships/

Related Videos
dvm360 Live! with Dr. Adam Christman
dvm360 Live! with Dr. Adam Christman
dvm360 Live! with Dr. Adam Christman
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.