Webinar: Equine Endocrine Testing

April 11, 2016

Date: April 27 - April 27, 2016

Description:

Wednesday | April 27, 2016 | 7:00 p.m. EDT (6:00 p.m. CDT, 5:00 MDT, 4:00 PDT)Equine endocrine diseases are commonly encountered in the primary care setting, yet they can be challenging to diagnose and manage. Strategies for diagnostic testing continually evolve as understanding of disease pathophysiology improves and new tests are developed. When test results and clinical presentation are incongruent, the clinician must decide how best to utilize these tools to manage cases. In this presentation, we will discuss general principles of endocrine testing, followed by specific testing strategies for several clinical situations in geriatric, adult, and neonatal horses. In addition to current diagnostic test recommendations for Equine Metabolic Syndrome and pituitary pars intermedia dysfunction, topics will include thyroid dysfunction and calcium disorders. We will also explore how to utilize endocrine tests to guide treatment decisions. Presenter: Lisa Tadros, DVM, PhD, DACVIMEndocrinologist, Diagnostic Center for Population and Animal HealthMichigan State University College of Veterinary MedicineThe webinar is free but registration is required. Register online: https://msu.zoom.us/webinar/register/711764d3ffb211944ac87b605f06faf5Please submit any questions to: chapinco@dcpah.msu.edu

Event type: Webinar

Event Address: WebinarDiagnostic Center for Population and Animal Health, Michigan State University, MI, United States

Register now

For More Information:Courtney Chapin,MSU Diagnostic Center for Population and Animal Health

4125 Beaumont Road ,Lansing ,MI ,48910 ,United States

517-432-5832, chapinco@dcpah.msu.edu, animalhealth.msu.edu