Waddell takes AASV presidency; vows to take on industry issues


Des Moines-John T. Waddell, DVM, MBA, was installed as the 35th president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV) vowing to use the association expertise to solve important industry issues.

Des Moines-John T. Waddell, DVM, MBA, was installed as the 35th president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV) vowing to use the association expertise to solve important industry issues.

He took office during the AASV's annual meeting in Des Moines, Iowa.

During his yearlong term, Waddell's top focus will be to encourage more members to participate and engage in the organization.

"The AASV has an untapped resource of good thinkers," Waddell says. "I want to use their talents and expertise to solve important issues facing our profession."

Waddell leaned toward a career in veterinary medicine early because of his background with beef cattle. "But," Waddell adds, "I didn't get excited about swine production until I worked on a pork farm in Illinois when I was an undergraduate student. I was bitten by the pig bug that summer. I was hooked forever."

During his presidency, Waddell will draw heavily on his experiences as a food animal practitioner, and 21 years of service in the AASV. He served three years on the association's Board of Directors and chaired both the Public Relations Committee and the Pharmaceutical Issues Committee. In 1998, Waddell received the association's Meritorious Service Award for his leadership on several important issues affecting swine practitioners.

Waddell's involvement in veterinary medicine includes an appointment to the Food and Drug Administration's Veterinary Medicine Advisory Committee, serving as its chair in 2003-2004. He also chairs the American Veterinary Medical Association's Steering Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance. Waddell is a consultant to many U.S. and European companies involved in improving swine health.

He is a 1981 graduate of the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine. In 1994, he earned a master's degree in business administration from the University of Nebraska-Omaha. He is a graduate of the Nebraska Leadership, Education, Action and Development program.

Waddell and his wife, Carol, live in Sutton, Neb., where he has been a food animal practitioner since 1981.

Dr. Tom Gillespie of Rensselaer, Ind., was installed as AASVpresident-elect.

Gillespie named president-elect

Gillespie is the owner of Rensselaer Swine Services, P.C. and Jasper Swine Pharm., Inc. in Rensselaer, Ind. A 1979 graduate of the Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine, Gillespie is board-certified in swine health management by the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, with a specialization in swine health management.

Gillespie has been an active member of the AASV since 1979, the association reports. He has served in many leadership positions including as a member of the board of directors and as the foundation secretary. Gillespie has chaired the membership committee and served on the pseudorabies committee. He has been a member of the pharmaceutical issues committee since 2000.

Gillespie's involvement in the veterinary profession is extensive and includes serving on several committees of the Indiana Veterinary Medical Association. He served on the American Veterinary Medical Association's National Board Examination Committee from 1990-1992.

Joining Waddell and Gillespie as AASV officers in 2004 are: vice president - Dr. Scott Dee, Alexandria, Minn.; and immediate past president - Dr. Rick Sibbel, Ankeny, Iowa; and executive director - Dr. Tom Burkgren, Perry, Iowa.

Other officers

Dr. Thomas L. Wetzell of Wells, Minn. was named the 2004 Swine Practitioner of the Year.

Award winners

The award, given annually since 1977, recognizes swine practitioners who demonstrate exceptional service to their veterinary clients. It is AASV's highest honor.

In receiving the award, Wetzell says, "I am honored and humbled to receive this award. Many thanks go to the clients I serve and my colleagues."

Wetzell is president of the South Central Veterinary Association Clinic in Wells, Minn. His practice has six veterinarians who provide veterinary care to swine farms throughout the upper Midwest. He joined the clinic, owned by his father, after graduating from the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine in 1977.

  • Dr. Paul Sundberg was awarded the Howard Dunne Memorial Award by AASV. The award recognizes an AASV member who has made important contributions and provided outstanding service to the association and the swine industry.

Sundberg is vice president of science and technology for the National Pork Board, where he has worked since 2001. Sundberg has been active in the U.S. pork industry for more than 10 years, and he contributed to the development of the industry's animal welfare program. His recent project involves the implementation of the Swine Welfare Assurance Program; the industry's standard for assessing swine welfare on the farm.

  • Dr. John Deen, St. Paul, Minn., received the AASV's Meritorious Service Award in recognition of the time and effort he has consistently given the association. The award was presented during the association's annual meeting in Des Moines.

Deen is an associate professor of swine health management at the University of Minnesota, and director of the university's Swine Center. His expertise is the analysis and improvement of commercial pig production. His involvement in the AASV spans 20 years, where he currently chairs the AASV Welfare Committee and the scholarships committee of the AASV Foundation.

  • The AASV Foundation awarded scholarships, totaling $19,000, to eight veterinary students during the association's annual meeting in Des Moines.

Michael Pierdon received a $5,000 scholarship for best student presentation. Pierdon is a third-year veterinary student at the University of Pennsylvania. His presentation was titled "Growth dynamics of two common bacterial contaminants found in extended porcine semen." Alpharma Animal Health provided the financial support for the award.

Seven veterinary student presenters received $2,000 scholarships: Amy Carroll, Purdue University; Christa Helmka, University of Guelph; Keith Kinsley, University of Minnesota; Brad Leuwerke, Iowa State University; Kimberley MacDonald, University of Prince Edward Island; Brian Payne, University of Illinois; and Erin Strait, Iowa State University. Eli Lilly and Company Foundation, on behalf of Elanco Animal Health, provided financial support for these awards.

Fifteen students were selected to present during the annual meeting from a pool of 27 who submitted abstracts for consideration. All students who submitted abstracts were eligible to receive a $500 travel stipend from Alpharma Animal Health to attend the annual meeting.

Related Videos
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.