Six equine veterinary grads selected for AAEP Foundation scholarships


Four will receive Zoetis/AAEP Foundation scholarships; two will receive Northwestern Pennsylvania Veterinary Medical Association Equine Symposium/AAEP Foundation awards.

Six veterinary graduates of 2015 who are committed to careers in equine medicine have been selected by the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) Foundation to receive $4,000 scholarships. The scholarships will be presented during the Dec. 8 AAEP Foundation Celebration, held in conjunction with the AAEP's 61st Annual Convention in Las Vegas.

Four of the graduates will receive the annual Zoetis/AAEP Foundation Scholarships; two other graduates are the inaugural recipients of the Northwestern Pennsylvania Veterinary Medical Association (NWPVMA) Equine Symposium/AAEP Foundation Scholarships.

Both scholarship programs reward graduating veterinary students with a dedication to equine medicine for their academic excellence, leadership in their school and AAEP student chapter, and their long-term goals. The recipients are:

  • Angela Gaesser, DVM, Texas A&M University

  • Lauren Mundy, DVM, Ohio State University

  • Jillian Paegelow, DVM, University of Missouri

  • Esther Rogers, DVM, Auburn University

  • Kaitlin McDonald, DVM, University of Calgary

  • Jennifer Reda, DVM, University of Florida

Veterinary student applicants are nominated for the scholarships by representatives from their colleges. In addition to academic excellence, recipients are evaluated on their leadership abilities and involvement in activities benefiting the health and welfare of horses.

Each accredited college or school of veterinary medicine with an AAEP student chapter may use its own criteria to nominate a fourth-year veterinary student who plans to enter equine practice.

Related Videos
NAVC Gives
NAVC CEO Gene O'Neill
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.