• One Health
  • Pain Management
  • Oncology
  • Anesthesia
  • Geriatric & Palliative Medicine
  • Ophthalmology
  • Anatomic Pathology
  • Poultry Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Dermatology
  • Theriogenology
  • Nutrition
  • Animal Welfare
  • Radiology
  • Internal Medicine
  • Small Ruminant
  • Cardiology
  • Dentistry
  • Feline Medicine
  • Soft Tissue Surgery
  • Urology/Nephrology
  • Avian & Exotic
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Anesthesiology & Pain Management
  • Integrative & Holistic Medicine
  • Food Animals
  • Behavior
  • Zoo Medicine
  • Toxicology
  • Orthopedics
  • Emergency & Critical Care
  • Equine Medicine
  • Pharmacology
  • Pediatrics
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Shelter Medicine
  • Parasitology
  • Clinical Pathology
  • Virtual Care
  • Rehabilitation
  • Epidemiology
  • Fish Medicine
  • Diabetes
  • Livestock
  • Endocrinology

ISU College of Veterinary Medicine announces award winners


Among the winners is dvm360’s chief veterinary officer, Adam Christman, DVM, MBA

The Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine (ISU-CVM) announced the winners of its alumni awards during the university’s Homecoming celebration on November 3-4. Among the winners is Adam Christman, DVM, MBA, chief veterinary officer, dvm360, who took home the William P. Switzer Award.

“I am truly humbled and full of unwavering gratitude to accept such a prestigious award from my veterinary school. Dr. William P. Switzer's contributions to our understanding of swine respiratory diseases have undoubtedly left a legacy in our profession and I am truly humbled to be associated with his name and memory,” expressed Christman, exclusively to dvm360.

Adam Christman, DVM, MBA, with Rachel Allbaugh, DVM, MS, DACVO

Adam Christman, DVM, MBA, with Rachel Allbaugh, DVM, MS, DACVO

The William P. Switzer Award was first created in 1998 to recognize an individual who made outstanding contributions to society and ISU-CVM.2 The nominees can either be veterinary, non-veterinarians, alumni, or non-alumni who had an association with the college that created a positive impact for teaching, research, and service.

The award was named after William P. Switzer, DVM, PhD, who began working at ISU as an assistant professor and worked his way up to the associate dean of research. He served as associate dean until he retired in 1990 as Distinguished Professor Emeritus, after serving 42 years on the faculty at the college. Switzer passed away on Friday, July 16, 2021, at 94 years old.1,3

“I am committed to continuing to make a positive impact on teaching, research, and service within the field of veterinary medicine. I will continue to elevate and expand the incredible education and research my fellow Gentle Doctors share in this world. Here's to many more years of laughter, learning, and saving the world, one paw, one claw, and one hoof at a time,” Christman concluded.

Christman was 1 of 5 veterinary professionals honored during the celebration. Cara Haden, DVM, won the Outstanding Alumni Award, Larry Sadler, MS, PhD, won the Lorraine J. Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award, Karen Becker, DVM, and Bryan Buss, DVM, both won the Stange Award for Meritorious Award.

Nominations for the ISU-CVM awards will reopen in January 2024.


  1. CVM to honor Five Alumni Awards. News release. Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine. November 2, 2023. Accessed November 6, 2023. https://vetmed.iastate.edu/node/14530
  2. Alumni awards. Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Accessed November 6, 2023. https://vetmed.iastate.edu/alumn i-giving/alumni/awards
  3. Gieseke D. Switzer, William. Iowa State University Biographical Dictionary. Published online 2021. Accessed November 6, 2023. https://isubios.pubpub.org/pub/876alske/release/1
Related Videos
Cats are Masters of Hiding Pain
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.