ACVS elects officers, names new treasurer


Washington-Awards granted to veterinarians.

Washington — Dale E. Bjorling, DVM, MS, is the new president-elect of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS). He and two new regents were elected, and a new treasurer appointed, during the annual ACVS Veterinary Symposium in Washington, D.C.

Bjorling is a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine. He attended veterinary school at the University of Illinois and completed his surgery residency at the University of Georgia.

Last year's president-elect, Stephen B. Adams, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVS, was installed as president for 2009-2010. The outgoing president, Steven C. Budsberg, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVS, becomes chair of the Board of Regents. Bjorling will move to president for 2010-2011. The president-elect, president and board chair each serve one-year terms.

The new large-animal regent is P.O. Eric Mueller, DVM, Dipl. ACVS, of the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine; and the new small-animal regent is Richard Walshaw, BVMS, Dipl. ACVS, Animal Cancer & Imaging Center, Canton, Mich.

C. Collins "Andy" Anderson, DVM, MBA, South Texas Veterinary Specialists in San Antonio, was appointed treasurer, replacing Robert A. Taylor, DVM, MS, who retired this year as treasurer after 15 years.

The ACVS Foundation also announced the appointment of two new trustees — Sara A. Colopy, DVM, Dipl. ACVS, of the University of Wisconsin School of Veterinary Medicine; and Jon F. Dee, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVS, a practitioner in Hollywood, Fla. Dee will work on improving emeritus diplomate programs, and Colopy, who became a diplomate this year, will help initiate and optimize programs geared to new diplomates.

Awards granted

ACVS also announced recipients of three of its top annual awards — one for career achievement, one for developing a time-tested procedure or test and one for service to the organization.

George E. Eyster, VMD, MS, Dipl. ACVS, professor and chair of the Department of Medical Sciences and associate dean for Advancement at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine, received the ACVS Foundation Legends Award, which recognizes diplomates who have developed a surgical or diagnostic procedure of significant value, proven by becoming the treatment or test of choice over time for a given condition.

Donald L. Piermattei, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVS, recently retired from teaching at Colorado State University and his referral surgical practice in Denver, received the ACVS Founders' Award for Career Achievement, which recognizes outstanding contributions to veterinary surgery. Author of two books in his field that have become educational resources, Piermattei's research has included the use of various antibiotics in experimentally induced cystitis in cats, heart transplantation in a miniature swine model, biomechanical analysis of cerclage wires on immature bone and the reconstruction of the anterior cruciate ligament using a fascia lata reconstruction.

Alan J. Lipowitz, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVS, executive secretary of the ACVS Foundation Board of Trustees since 2006 and executive secretary of the ACVS Board of Regents since 1992 until his retirement this year, received the Al & Carolyn Schiller Distinguished Service Award for his service to the ACVS. Lipowitz has been the author of 78 articles and book chapters and authored, with others, three textbooks on veterinary surgery. The award is named after the ACVS' first executive secretary, Al Schiller, and his wife Carolyn.

Related Videos
NAVC Gives
NAVC CEO Gene O'Neill
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.