• One Health
  • Pain Management
  • Oncology
  • Anesthesia
  • Geriatric & Palliative Medicine
  • Ophthalmology
  • Anatomic Pathology
  • Poultry Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Dermatology
  • Theriogenology
  • Nutrition
  • Animal Welfare
  • Radiology
  • Internal Medicine
  • Small Ruminant
  • Cardiology
  • Dentistry
  • Feline Medicine
  • Soft Tissue Surgery
  • Urology/Nephrology
  • Avian & Exotic
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Anesthesiology & Pain Management
  • Integrative & Holistic Medicine
  • Food Animals
  • Behavior
  • Zoo Medicine
  • Toxicology
  • Orthopedics
  • Emergency & Critical Care
  • Equine Medicine
  • Pharmacology
  • Pediatrics
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Shelter Medicine
  • Parasitology
  • Clinical Pathology
  • Virtual Care
  • Rehabilitation
  • Epidemiology
  • Fish Medicine
  • Diabetes
  • Livestock
  • Endocrinology

Veterinary students awarded $530,000 in scholarships from The Foundation for the Horse

Press Release

The 29 recipients were recognized during the American Association of Equine Practitioners' annual convention in San Diego, California.

equine veterinary scholarships

Photo: Brastock Images/Adobe Stock

Students from more than a dozen veterinary schools were presented with scholarship awards totaling $530,000 during the American Association of Equine Practitioners' (AAEP) 69th Annual Convention in San Diego, California. The scholarships were awarded by The Foundation for the Horse, a nonprofit organization that aims to improve the welfare of horses, and funded in partnership with other organizations.

The 29 scholarship recipients are pursuing careers in equine practice. Their awards included 4 new scholarships totaling $75,000 as well as ongoing scholarship programs.

These scholarships reward veterinary students at colleges of veterinary medicine in the United States, Canada, the Caribbean, and Europe for their academic excellence, leadership in their school and in an AAEP student chapter, and their long-term goals in equine practice. Applicants apply during their second and third year of veterinary school and are required to have documented support of AAEP members and their clinical instructors.

Recipients of the foundation's ongoing scholarship programs including the following awards:

Four students received $75,000 Coyote Rock Ranch Scholarships:

  • Anne Brien, Kansas State University
  • Megan Elcombe, University of California, Davis
  • Bailey Fritz, Kansas State University
  • Meg Lemons, University of Georgia

Ten students received $10,000 Zoetis Foundation Scholarships:

  • Amanda Ayers, University of California, Davis
  • Gabriella Balaa, University of Missouri
  • Briana Blackwelder, North Carolina State University
  • Nicole Gonzales, University of California, Davis
  • Fred Holcomb, Texas A&M University
  • Emma Kerr, Cornell University
  • Ryan Lurch, Lincoln Memorial University
  • Angela Mangine, University of Pennsylvania
  • Ashley Nixon, University of Guelph
  • Shelby Rivkin, Michigan State University

Five students received $5000 Merck Animal Health Scholarships:

  • Alexandra Bettencourt, Texas A&M University
  • Scarlett Loya, University of Pennsylvania
  • Lauren Obermeyer, The Ohio State University
  • Harrell Phillips III, Kansas State University
  • Cassidy Scatena, Texas A&M University

Five students received $5000 Oakwood Foundation Scholarships:

  • Madeleine Edwards, North Carolina State University
  • Haven Erengil, Texas A&M University
  • James Ford III, Lincoln Memorial University
  • Kaitlyn Lomsnes, University of Calgary
  • Sara Zunker, Texas A&M University

Additionally, Claire Long from Texas A&M University received the $5000 Dr. Bill Rood Leadership Scholarship. New scholarship program awards are as follows:

  • Hannah Quail from the University of Florida received the $50,000 Ellen DiBella Memorial Scholarship.
  • Annie Gerding from The Ohio State University received the $10,000 Richard & Anne Stirlen Foundation Scholarship Honoring Dr. Gus Abuja.
  • Meghan Poth from University of California, Davis, received the $10,000 Richard & Anne Stirlen Foundation Scholarship Honoring Dr. Laura Javsicas.
  • Tessa Beiter from Cornell University received the $5,000 Hagyard Equine Medical Institute Scholarship.

Established in 1994, The Foundation for the Horse annually awards more than $1 million annually in scholarships and grants to impact equine health and well-being throughout the US and developing countries.


The Foundation for the Horse awards record $530,000 in scholarships. News release. November 30, 2023. Accessed December 1, 2023. https://aaep.org/node/38172

Related Videos
NAVC Gives
Renee Schmid, DVM
NAVC CEO Gene O'Neill
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.