Oklahoma law allows non-veterinarians to float horses' teeth

Article

New law puts certification and fees in the hands of the state's veterinary board.

Oklahoma City, Okla. -- Gov. Brad Henry signed into law a bill allowing non-veterinarians to float horses' teeth if they meet state certification requirements.

To become an equine dental care provider, applicants must pay $200 to the Oklahoma State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and follow the board's requirements. Current rules require applicants to take at least 80 hours in equine dentistry at the Texas Institute of Equine Dentistry, the Academy of Equine Dentistry, or other similar program, or go through certification as an equine dental technician by the International Association of Equine Dentistry or its equivalent. Teeth-floating practitioners must also complete four hours of continuing education each year to maintain certification.

The new law allows horse owners or their employees—with a valid client-veterinarian prescription and relationship—to administer sedatives often used in teeth-floating procedures.

Related Videos
Related Content
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.