AVMA COE council members selected

October 4, 2016

Three veterinary leaders appointed positions on Council on Education.

Photo courtesy of the American Veterinary Medical Association. At the close of the House of Delegates regular annual session, three positions became open for appointment on the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Council on Education (COE) when the 2016-2017 association year began on Aug. 5, according to a report from the AVMA.

James Hoffman, DVM, of Searcy, Arkansas, was appointed by the AVMA COE Selection Committee to a six-year term representing private mixed clinical practice. The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) appointed University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine Dean Trevor Ames, DVM, MS, to a three-year term representing the AAVMC. And University of Guelph Ontario Veterinary College Dean Cate Dewey, DVM, MSc, PhD, was appointed by the AAVMC to a six-year term representing postgraduate education, the report states.

The AVMA and AAVMC selection committees choose eight and seven COE members respectively, according to the report. The COE itself elects the three public members of the council, the Canadian VMA appoints the Canadian representative, and the AAVMC appoints a veterinarian. Formerly, the AVMA House of Delegates elected 15 of the council's 20 members.