• One Health
  • Pain Management
  • Oncology
  • Geriatric & Palliative Medicine
  • Ophthalmology
  • Anatomic Pathology
  • Poultry Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Dermatology
  • Theriogenology
  • Nutrition
  • Animal Welfare
  • Radiology
  • Internal Medicine
  • Small Ruminant
  • Cardiology
  • Dentistry
  • Feline Medicine
  • Soft Tissue Surgery
  • Urology/Nephrology
  • Avian & Exotic
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Anesthesiology & Pain Management
  • Integrative & Holistic Medicine
  • Food Animals
  • Behavior
  • Zoo Medicine
  • Toxicology
  • Orthopedics
  • Emergency & Critical Care
  • Equine Medicine
  • Pharmacology
  • Pediatrics
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Shelter Medicine
  • Parasitology
  • Clinical Pathology
  • Virtual Care
  • Rehabilitation
  • Epidemiology
  • Fish Medicine
  • Diabetes
  • Livestock
  • Endocrinology

American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine presents 2023 Recognition Awards

Press Release

Three veterinary professionals were awarded the 2023 ACVIM Recognition Awards



The American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM) announced the veterinary professionals who won the 2023 ACVIM Recognition Awards. The winners have demonstrated excellence, dedicated service, and expertise to make an impact on the well-being of animals as well as advance the veterinary profession.

According to an organizational release,1 the winners were:

  • Peter Constable, BVSc, MS, PhD, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, received the Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence.
  • Ellen Behrend, VMD, PhD, DACVIM, Joezy Griffin Endowed Professor & Alumni Professor Emeritus at Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, received the Lee & Inge Pyle Service Award.
  • Jessica Ward, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM (Cardiology), Phyllis M. Clark Endowed Professorship, Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Extramural Student Programs at Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, is the inaugural recipient of the William R. Fenner Early Career Award for Outstanding Service.

In addition to the recognition awards, ACVIM recognized prominent leaders within each of the Colleges' 6 specialties. The winners are:1

  • Specialty Lifetime Achievement Award for Cardiology: Robert Hamlin, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM
  • Specialty Lifetime Achievement Award for Large Animal Internal Medicine: Pamela Wilkins, DVM, PhD, DACVIM (LA-IM), DACVECC
  • Specialty Lifetime Achievement Award for Small Animal Internal Medicine: Jody Lulich, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM

The award winners were present at the recent ACVIM Forum in Philadelphia, PA and nominations for the recognition awards are accepted annually with awardees being selected by a panel of past recipients.


The American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Announces 2023 Recognition Awards. News release. American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. July 11, 2023. Accessed July 11, 2023.

Related Videos
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.